University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us

University of Texas Libraries

University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

Quick Links

Mobile Site

About the Library

Contact & Location


If we are offline email the Engineering Librarians or try Ask a Librarian

Materials Science and Engineering Subject Guide

Finding Articles
Selected Reference Materials
Materials Properties Data
Product Catalogs
UT Departments and Institutes
Additional Library Resources
Further Assistance


Materials Science and engineering is an interdisciplinary area of study that investigates the composition and structure of  materials. It combines aspects of metallurgy, physics and chemistry, as well as electrical and mechanical engineering. Materials studied and applied are generally divided into categories: metals, polymers, semiconductors, ceramics, composite materials and more recently biomaterials and nanomaterials. Properties of materials determine the selection or design of a material for an enormous variety of applications, ranging from structural steels to computer microchips based on its properties.

Finding Articles

Links to these indexes are available through the Find Articles using Databases web page.  

Full-Text Papers and Proceedings

Journals

top of page


Selected Reference Materials:

Online:

  • ASM Handbooks Online - Definitive source for data on all commercial alloys and composites. Includes the complete content of all 25 volumes of the ASM Handbook, plus two ASM Desk Editions. We also have the handbooks in print in the reference area: TA 459 M5

  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online   - Searchable, full-text access to an internationally acclaimed reference source covering chemical and process engineering, industrial and applied chemistry, materials science, polymer science, biotechnology and more. Includes extensive information on chemical products, processes and economics. We also have the print volumes in the reference area: TP 9 K54 2004

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - An electronic version of the 81st edition of print handbook. Includes several updated and expanded tables.

Print Reference:

  • Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology, 2004 (5 volumes)
    T 174.7 D455 2004
    Engineering Collection, PCL Stacks
    Chemistry Library


  • Encyclopedia of materials science and engineering. 1986.  (8 volumes)
    TA 402 E53
    Chemistry Library


  • Encyclopedia of polymer science and engineering. 1985-. (17 volumes).
    TP 1087 E46
    Chemistry Library

top of page

Materials Properties Data

UT Databases

Web sites

top of page


Product Catalogs

top of page


UT Departments and Institutes

top of page


Additional Library Resources

top of page


Further Assistance

If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!

top of page